Downing Street

Downing Street. (Open Map)


Home of the First Lord of the Treasury

Downing Street was built in the 1680s by Sir George Downing, 1st Baronet, and is nowadays renowned for hosting the official residences of two of the most senior British cabinet ministers: the First Lord of the Treasury, and the Second Lord of the Treasury.

The residences of the Prime Minister (Number 10), the Chancellor of the Exchequer, and the Chief Whip are all on the Downing Street. With so many important personalities living here, no wonder that the entrance to Downing Street is guarded by big iron-cast gates. The street is patrolled by armed police, and there is always at least one police officer outside the front door of Number 10.